News for Employers – Workplace First Aid Certifications in BC

Great news regarding workplace first aid certification!

Effective September 1 2018, both Canadian Red Cross Emergency First Aid (EFA) and Standard First Aid (SFA) will be recognized as equivalent to Occupational First Aid (OFA) Level 1, also known as Workplace Emergency First Aid (WEFA).

Unlike the Level 1 program, Red Cross EFA and SFA certification is transferable between all provinces and recognized nationally for workplace requirements. While Level 1 includes adult skills only, EFA and SFA include adult, child and infant skills. This is great for workers who have contact with the public.

Why are the workplace first aid requirements changing?

WorkSafeBC regularly reviews the OFA training program to ensure that it is keeping up with best practices. What’s different? The new training covers a broader spectrum of medical issues, and aligns treatment protocols with Canadian and international best practices.

Are the Occupational Health and Safety Regulation and Guidelines changing?

These changes are not a result of changes to the Occupational Health and Safety (OHS) Regulation. As part of the process of updating best practices, the OHS Guidelines are being reviewed and updated. WorkSafeBC will provide more information about this in the coming months.

Will current Red Cross Level 1 (WEFA) certificates still be valid after September 1 2018?

Yes. Current certification remains valid until the expiry date on the certificate.

Time for your team members to renew their first aid certification?

Register your staff on a public course in Coquitlam via links below or book a private class. For information or a quote for private group training at your workplace or our Coquitlam location please contact us:

Gill McCulloch
Safe + Sound First Aid Training Ltd.

Public class schedule, Coquitlam:
Emergency First Aid & CPR (1 day)

Standard First aid & CPR (2 days)

Posted in Blog, News.